After the big night

IMG_3217

We’d been waiting for this last prom for thirteen years, and when it finally arrived we were prepared. Glittery eye shadow and pretty dresses met amateur DJs and cheap champagne. We danced away worries about marks and exams and teachers’ loud voices. We sang away homework and tests and bad cafeteria food. Our steps spelled out no more school buses and late night panic-driven revision. It was the night of nights, and as I got home and hung up my dress, curls almost gone and feet hurting from a night on high heels, I laughed as I thought to myself; This may be the happiest I’ve ever been.

-Andrea

Leave a Reply

